Resources

20131004_211535_Cropped
Spring peeper near porch light in October

Below are links to web pages etc. that are useful resources for nature enthusiasts exploring the Buffalo-Niagara Region.

Nature Viewing Sites in Western New York:
Beaver Meadow Nature Center: http://www.buffaloaudubon.org/beavermeadow.php
Erie County Department of Parks & Recreation: http://www.erie.gov/parks/
GrowWNY Go Outside Map: http://www.growwny.org/go-outside/
Iroquois National Wildlife Refuge: http://www.fws.gov/refuge/iroquois/
National Wildlife Federation’s Nature Find: http://www.nwf.org/naturefind/
New York State Parks – Niagara Region: http://www.nysparks.com/regions/niagara/default.aspx
New York’s Watchable Wildlife Sites: http://www.dec.ny.gov/outdoor/55423.html
Niagara County Parks Department: http://www.niagaracounty.com/parks/Home.aspx
Niagara River Greenway Trails & Attractions: http://www.niagaragreenway.org/sites/all/themes/nrgc/NRGBroch.pdf
Oak Orchard & Tonawanda WMAs: http://www.dec.ny.gov/outdoor/24442.html
Penn Dixie Paleontological and Outdoor Education Center: http://www.penndixie.org/
Reinstein Woods Nature Preserve: http://www.dec.ny.gov/education/1837.html
State Lands Interactive Mapper: http://www.dec.ny.gov/outdoor/45478.html
Tifft Nature Preserve: http://www.sciencebuff.org/tifft-nature-preserve/
Western New York Hiking Trails: http://www.wnyhikes.com/index.php

Bird Sighting Information:
eBird: http://ebird.org/ebird/eBirdReports?cmd=Start
Genesee Birds: http://mail.geneseo.edu/mailman/listinfo/geneseebirds-l
BOS Dial-a-Bird: 716-896-1271 (phone message typically updated Thursday afternoons)

WNY Organizations that Offer Nature/Conservation Activities:
Buffalo Audubon Society: http://www.buffaloaudubon.org/
Buffalo Niagara Riverkeeper: http://bnriverkeeper.org/
Buffalo Ornithological Society: http://www.buffaloornithologicalsociety.org/
Earth Spirit Educational Services: http://www.earthspiritedu.org/
Friends of Iroquois National Wildlife Refuge: http://www.friendsofiroquoisnwr.org/
Hawk Creek Wildlife Center, Inc.: http://www.hawkcreek.org
Iroquois Observations –Nature Activities at Iroquois NWR: http://www.buffaloaudubon.org/docs/IO-2015.pdf
Nature Ed-Ventures: http://www.natureed-ventures.com
Niagara River Greenway Commission: http://www.niagaragreenway.org/
Reinstein Woods Nature Preserve: http://www.dec.ny.gov/education/1977.html
The Nature Conservancy: http://www.nature.org/ourinitiatives/regions/northamerica/unitedstates/newyork/placesweprotect/centralwesternnewyork/
Western New York Land Conservancy: http://www.wnylc.org/

General Fish & Wildlife Topics:
Aquatic Macroinvertebrates of New York State: http://www.dec.ny.gov/animals/35772.html
Breeding Bird Atlas (see what birds nest in New York State): http://www.dec.ny.gov/animals/7312.html
DEC TV (Video Clips of a Variety of Outdoor Activities): http://www.dec.ny.gov/dectv/dectv.html
Fish Atlas Maps: http://www.dec.ny.gov/animals/84622.html
Freshwater Fish of New York State: http://www.dec.ny.gov/animals/84775.html
National Wildlife Federation Wildlife Watch: http://www.nwf.org/wildlifewatch/
Nature Watch by Gerry Rising: http://www.acsu.buffalo.edu/~insrisg/nature/
Project FeederWatch (Citizen Science Opportunity): http://www.birds.cornell.edu/pfw/
Reptile & Amphibian Atlas: http://www.dec.ny.gov/animals/7140.html
Wildlife Webcams: http://newyorkwild.org/webcams/webcams.htm
WGRZ 2-the-Outdoors: http://www.wgrz.com/local/2-the-outdoors/

How to Improve Fish & Wildlife Habitat Where You Live:
Backyard Wildlife Habitat Enhancement:
http://www.nwf.org/Get-Outside/Outdoor-Activities/Garden-for-Wildlife/Create-a-Habitat.aspx
http://www.nwf.org/Get-Outside/Outdoor-Activities/Garden-for-Wildlife/Gardening-Tips.aspx
http://www.nrcs.usda.gov/wps/portal/nrcs/detail/national/newsroom/?cid=nrcs143_023574
http://www.eartheasy.com/play_bkyd_wildhab.htm

Schoolyard Habitat Enhancement and Similar Programs:
http://www.nwf.org/How-to-Help/Garden-for-Wildlife/Schoolyard-Habitats.aspx?campaignid=WH09ASLP&s_src=CWH_GoogleMini_schoolyard
http://www.dec.ny.gov/education/41746.html

Farmland Habitat Enhancement:
http://ohioline.osu.edu/w-fact/0014.html

Advertisements